



The 2016 Rock Island Rotary Award winners

Service Inspires Judge Sara Darrow

The keynote for the Rock Island Rotary Awards Ceremony was the Honorable Sara Darrow, U.S. District Court judge. Sara Darrow is a graduate of Marquette University and St. Louis University School of Law. Before becoming a federal prosecutor in 2003, she worked in the Henry County State's Attorney's Office. On the recommendation of Senator Dick Durbin, Darrow was nominated to the United States District Court for the Central District of Illinois by President Barack Obama on November 17,



2010 to fill a vacancy created by Judge Joe McDade. The United States Senate unanimously confirmed Darrow on August 2, 2011. To her, the spirit of service is something gives her renewal and inspires her to do better. Inspiration can begin anywhere, and for Darrow it was her grandfather. She never tired of his stories of triumph and strife. Even during her grandfather's challenging times (he was stricken with polio) he worked tirelessly to serve others.

"The desire to serve isn't supposed to be convenient and it is more than an activity. Through it we discover and live out our values."

April/May Calendar

April 5 – Bert Blood Rural/Urban Scholarship

April 12 - Chinese Culture / Shen Yun – Dr. Feng

April 19 - Awards Luncheon

April 26 - Earl Hanson Inspire Choir

May 3 - Rock Island Public Library – Angela Campbell

May 10 - Privies to Plumbing: A Short History of the Bathroom – Ann Koski

May 17 - Rotary Foundation – Bud Phillis

May 24 - Financial Scams – Andrew Guzzo

May 31 - Kiwanis Joint Meeting



P.O. Box 4514 Rock Island, IL 61204 www.rirotary.com

Officers

John Phillips, President Steve Morenz, 1st VP Bruce Peterson, 2nd VP Anne McGlynn, Secretary Carrie Crossen, Treasurer Mike Locander, Past President

Board Members

Angela Campbell Sue Cassatt John Daly Lawrence Davis Jeff Eder Mark Mayeski Carrie O'Neill Billy Puckett

Co-Sergeant At Arms Vic Boblett & Bob Swanson

Program Chairs 2015-16

April – May: Kevin Koski June – July: Diane Koster

Club Notes & Announcements!

- Volunteers Needed for JDC! The Moline Rotary Club has the 18th hole during the John Deere Classic. It takes about 10 to 12 persons at all times to make this happen and the Moline Rotary is extending an invitation to Rock Island Rotary to help cover the slots. The classic is the weekend of August 11, but will run from Wednesday thru Sunday. Your entrance fee is free, but you will have to buy a Tee Shirt that costs about \$25. You get free snacks while on duty and a free lunch at noon time. If you are interested, please contact Sam Wray at 799-5160 or Kent Crippen at 787-3514.
- **Global Project Committee Meeting!** The Global Project Committee will meet at 11:30 just prior to our April 26th Meeting. Members are Sam Wray, Jim Bishop, Ted Kutsunis, Tricia Barron, Don Peterson, and Gary Rowe.
- **Run and Walk for Great Causes!** If you like to run or walk for a cause, two Rock Island Rotary members are coordinating events this coming week. On April 30th the Steve's Old Time Tap Spring Chaser 5k in support of the Quad Cities Red Cross Chapter will take off at 9:00 a.m. in downtown Rock Island. To register visit www.springchaser.com or to volunteer contact Holly Sparkman at hksparkman@gmail.com. Also on April 30th the Purple Dash supporting the Epilepsy Foundation of the Quad Cities kicks off at 10am. More information on the event page at https://www.facebook.com/events/816538888490084/ Contact Rotarian Monta Ponseto, 309-781-0660 if you would like to volunteer.

The FUN Committee!

The FUN Committee and the Membership Committee are jointly hosting an After Hours Meet and Greet event at the **Blue Cat on Thursday, April 28, from 5-7 p.m.** We especially want to invite our newer members and provide an opportunity to socialize and get to know seasoned club members. Members of the RAH! Rotary After Hours club will also be involved.

Please mark your calendars for **Sunday**, **June 12**, **Noon-4 p.m.** The Fislars are hosting a gathering at their FUN house (with a pool!). More details will follow. Contact Past President and PDG Ruth Lee for FUN information rotarianruth@gmail.com



Running Rotarians Holly, Mike, Sarah and President John at the Spring Forward Learning Center 5K with race director AND Rotarian Dan McNeil (left). There are two events coming up for Rotarians (see above) to participate in - don't forget to take a photo and send it to the newsletter person du month Bob Swanson or Holly Sparkman.

Rock Island Rotary Club Awards 2016

The Rock Island Rotary Club held the 42nd Annual Awards Luncheon on April 19 at the QC Botanical Center. **The Honorable Sara Darrow** served as the Keynote Speaker for the event. Six students were recognized for their academic achievements:

Augustana College: **Kaitlyn Lindgren & Kyle Christensen** Alleman High School: **Nicole Polzin & Rachel Elliott** Rock Island High School: **Adam Cady & Elizabeth Moore**

The club's leadership awards were given to two outstanding community members. Alleman High School Development Director Father Daniel Mirabelli was given the Community Service; and Bill Albracht was given the Excellence Award.

The club's highest award, the **A.T. Peara Service Above Self Award went to member Mike Locander.** Mike has always served the club well and from the get go made his mark into club service by becoming the Rotary District 6420 Rotarian of the Year in 2012. He turned around and then became the club's 2nd Vice-President and was on the President track for 2014-2015. From ringing Salvation Army Bells to organizing the annual Pumpkinpalooza, Mike has been involved in several committees and is a Paul Harris Fellow. He enjoys making the youth as his focus, and volunteers at partner school Earl Hanson and is chair of the Rock Island High School Rotaract Club. Mike takes Rotary with him wherever he goes on his Youth Exchange student to racquetball. Congratulations to Mike as the 36th Rotary Club member to receive this outstanding Service Above Self Award!

Thank you to the awards committee for bringing the program together – Jim Moran (Chair), Kathi Allison, Courtney Boothe, Clarence Darrow, Christy Filby, Chris Lemon, Fred Luckenbill and Billy Puckett.













